Faculty

Elijah Anderson
William K Lanman Jr Prof Sociology, Director, Urban Ethnography Project; Prof African American Studies
493 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-8907
elijah.anderson@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3321
David Blight
Class of 1954 Prof of American Hist, Dir Gilder Lehrman Ctr, Prof Afr Am & Am St
HGS 104 -- 320 York St, New Haven, CT 06511-3627
david.blight@yale.edu
Phone: 432-8521, 432-3339
Daphne Brooks
Prof Afr Am Studies and Theater Studies
Rm 405 -- 81 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6606
daphne.brooks@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9062
Hazel Carby
Charles C & Dorathea S Dilley Prof African American Studies & American Studies
Rm 306 -- 81 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6606
hazel.carby@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9059
On Leave: Spring 2017 through Fall 2018
Crystal Feimster
Assoc Prof African American Studies, HIstory and American Studies
Rm 403 -- 81 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6606
crystal.feimster@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-3563
Glenda Gilmore
Peter V & C Vann Woodward Prof of History; Prof, African American Studies and American Studies
HGS 222 -- 320 York St, New Haven, CT 06511-3627
glenda.gilmore@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1398
On Leave: Spring 2017 through Spring 2018
Jacqueline Goldsby
Chair, African American Studies Dept.; Prof of English, African American Studies and American Studies
Rm 106 -- 81 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6606
jacqueline.goldsby@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3744
Emily Greenwood
Prof Classics
Rm 307 Phelps -- 344 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-6629
emily.greenwood@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9457
Jonathan Holloway
Dean of Yale College and Edmund S. Morgan Professor of African American Studies, History, and American Studies
SSS 110
jonathan.holloway@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2902
Matthew Jacobson
William Robertson Coe Professor of American Studies & History, Prof African American Stds
HGS 109 -- 320 York St, New Haven, CT 06511-3627
matthew.jacobson@yale.edu
Phone:
On Leave: Spring 2017
Erica James
Assistant Prof, History of Art and African American Studies; Director of Undergraduate Studies, African American Studies
Rm 302 -- 81 Wall Street, New Haven, CT 06511-6606
erica.james@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9718
Gerald Jaynes
Prof Economics & African American Studies; Director of Graduate Studies, Spring 2015
Rm 205 -- 81 Wall Street, New Haven, CT 06511-6606
gerald.jaynes@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3586
Christopher Lebron
Assistant Professor, African American Studies & Philosophy
Rm 203 -- 81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511-6606
christopher.lebron@yale.edu
Phone: Chris Lebron is Assistant Professor of African American Studies and Philosophy. His interests include moral theory, political ethics, race, and method. His book, The Color Of Our Shame: Race and Justice In Our Time, was published by Oxford University Pres
203-432-2102
Kobena Mercer
Prof History of Art and Afr Am Studies; African American Studies, Fall 2014
Loria 558 -- 190 York St, New Haven, CT 06511
kobena.mercer@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2671
Christopher Miller
Frederick Clifford Ford Prof French & African American Studies; Dir Grad Studies French
Rm 322 -- 82-90 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6605
christopher.miller@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-4466
On Leave: Spring 2017
Claudia Rankine
Frederick Iseman Professor of Poetry
81 Wall St., Rm 304
claudia.rankine@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9061
Website
Anthony Reed
Assoc Prof English & African American Studies
LC 406 -- 63 High St, New Haven, CT 06511-6642
anthony.reed@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1033
Joseph Roach
Prof English; Prof of Afr Am; Sterling Prof Theater; Prof of Amer Studies
LC 413 -- 63 High St, New Haven, CT 06511-6642
joseph.roach@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2231
Edward Rugemer
Assoc Prof American Studies and African American Studies, Assoc Prof History
Rm 202 -- 81 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6606
edward.rugemer@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-3556
Robert Stepto
Prof English, Prof African American Studies, Prof American Studies
Rm 404 -- 81 Wall Street, New Haven, CT 06511
robert.stepto@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2268, 203-432-1170
Michael Veal
Prof Music Dept and Afr Am Studies and American Studies
469 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-6609
michael.veal@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2990
Vesla Weaver
Associate Professor of African American Studies and Inst Soc Pol Studies; Director, ISPS Center for the Study of Inequality
ISPS 105 -- 115 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511
vesla.weaver@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3237