Faculty

Rizvana Bradley's picture Rizvana Bradley
Assistant Professor of History of Art and African American Studies
Loria Room 458; 190 York St. New Haven, CT 06511
rizvana.bradley@yale.edu
On leave: Fall 2019 through Spring 2020
Elijah Anderson's picture Elijah Anderson
Sterling Prof of Sociology, Director, Urban Ethnography Project; Prof African American Studies
493 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-8907
elijah.anderson@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3321
David Blight's picture David Blight
Class of 1954 Prof of American Hist, Dir Gilder Lehrman Ctr, Prof Afr Am & Am St
GLC--230 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
david.blight@yale.edu
Phone: 432-8521, 432-3339
Daphne A. Brooks's picture Daphne A. Brooks
William R. Kenan, Jr. Prof of African American Studies, and Prof. of Theater Stds, American Stds, and Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Stds
Rm 405 -- 81 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511
daphne.brooks@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9062
On leave: Fall 2018 through Spring 2019
Simone A. Browne's picture Simone A. Browne
Presidential Visiting Fellow -- Visiting Associate Professor in African American Studies
Room 402--81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511
simone.browne@yale.edu
Aimee Meredith Cox's picture Aimee Meredith Cox
Associate Professor of Anthropology and African American Studies
Rm 302 -- 81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511-6606
aimee.cox@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-7758
On leave: Fall 2018 through Spring 2019
Crystal Feimster's picture Crystal Feimster
Assoc Prof African American Studies, History and American Studies
Rm 403--81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511
crystal.feimster@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-3563
On leave: Spring 2019 through Fall 2019
Jacqueline Goldsby's picture Jacqueline Goldsby
Chair, African American Studies Dept.; Prof of English, African American Studies and American Studies
Rm 406 -- 81 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6606
jacqueline.goldsby@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3744
On leave: Fall 2018 through Spring 2019
Emily Greenwood's picture Emily Greenwood
Prof Classics
Rm 307 Phelps -- 344 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-6629
emily.greenwood@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9457
On leave: Fall 2018 through Spring 2019
Thomas Allen Harris's picture Thomas Allen Harris
Senior Lecturer
Room 307--81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511
thomas.allen.harris@yale.edu
Matthew Jacobson's picture Matthew Jacobson
William Robertson Coe Professor of American Studies & History, Prof African American Stds
Arnold Hall B21
matthew.jacobson@yale.edu
Phone:
On leave Spring 2020
Gerald Jaynes's picture Gerald Jaynes
Prof Economics & African American Studies; Acting Chair, Fa 2018 - Sp 2019
Rm 202 -- 28 Hillhouse Ave., New Haven, CT 06511-6606
gerald.jaynes@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3586
Kobena Mercer's picture Kobena Mercer, Director of Grad Studies African Am Stds -- Room 307, 81 Wall St.
Prof History of Art and Afr Am Studies; African American Studies
Loria 558 -- 190 York St, New Haven, CT 06511
kobena.mercer@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2671
Christopher Miller's picture Christopher Miller
Frederick Clifford Ford Prof French & African American Studies; Dir Grad Studies French
Rm 322 -- 82-90 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6605
christopher.miller@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-4466
On leave Spring 2020
Tavia Nyong'o's picture Tavia Nyong'o
Professor of African American Studies, American Studies and Theatre Studies
220 York Street, New Haven, CT 06511
tavia.nyongo@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1310
Claudia Rankine's picture Claudia Rankine
Frederick Iseman Professor of Poetry
Rm 304 -- 81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511-6606
claudia.rankine@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9061
Website
On leave: Fall 2019
Anthony Reed's picture Anthony Reed, Director of Undergrad Studies -- African Am Stds, Room 202, 81 Wall St.
Assoc Prof English & African American Studies
LC 406 -- 63 High St, New Haven, CT 06511-6642; Rm 302--81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511-0660
anthony.reed@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1033
Carolyn Roberts's picture Carolyn Roberts
Assistant Professor, History of Science & History of Medicine; African American Studies
Rm 303--81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511-6606
carolyn.roberts@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-1047
Edward Rugemer's picture Edward Rugemer
Assoc Prof American Studies and African American Studies, Assoc Prof History
Rm 305 -- 81 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6606
edward.rugemer@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-3556
Michael Veal's picture Michael Veal
Prof Music Dept and Afr Am Studies and American Studies
469 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-6609
michael.veal@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2990
On leave: Spring 2019