Faculty

Rizvana Bradley's picture Rizvana Bradley
Assistant Professor of Film and Media Studies and African American Studies
53 Wall St.
rizvana.bradley@yale.edu
Elijah Anderson's picture Elijah Anderson
William K Lanman Jr Prof Sociology, Director, Urban Ethnography Project; Prof African American Studies
493 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-8907
elijah.anderson@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3321
David Blight's picture David Blight
Class of 1954 Prof of American Hist, Dir Gilder Lehrman Ctr, Prof Afr Am & Am St
HGS 104 -- 320 York St, New Haven, CT 06511-3627
david.blight@yale.edu
Phone: 432-8521, 432-3339
Daphne Brooks's picture Daphne Brooks
Prof Afr Am Studies and Theater Studies
Rm 405 -- 81 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511
daphne.brooks@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9062
On leave: Fall 2018 through Spring 2019
Simone A. Browne's picture Simone A. Browne
Visiting Associate Professor
Room 402, 81 Wall St.
simone.browne@yale.edu
Hazel Carby's picture Hazel Carby
Charles C & Dorathea S Dilley Prof African American Studies & American Studies
Rm 306 -- 81 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6606
hazel.carby@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9059
Aimee Meredith Cox's picture Aimee Meredith Cox
Associate Professor of Anthropology and African American Studies
Rm 302 -- 81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511-6606
aimee.cox@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-7758
On leave: Fall 2018 through Spring 2019
Crystal Feimster's picture Crystal Feimster
Assoc Prof African American Studies, History and American Studies

crystal.feimster@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-3563
On leave: Spring 2019 through Fall 2019
Glenda Gilmore's picture Glenda Gilmore
Peter V & C Vann Woodward Prof of History; Prof, African American Studies and American Studies
HGS 222 -- 320 York St, New Haven, CT 06511-3627
glenda.gilmore@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1398
On Leave: Spring 2017 through Fall 2018
Jacqueline Goldsby's picture Jacqueline Goldsby
Chair, African American Studies Dept.; Prof of English, African American Studies and American Studies
Rm 106 -- 81 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6606
jacqueline.goldsby@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3744
On leave: Fall 2018 through Spring 2019
Emily Greenwood's picture Emily Greenwood
Prof Classics
Rm 307 Phelps -- 344 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-6629
emily.greenwood@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9457
Matthew Jacobson's picture Matthew Jacobson
William Robertson Coe Professor of American Studies & History, Prof African American Stds
HGS 109 -- 320 York St, New Haven, CT 06511-3627
matthew.jacobson@yale.edu
Phone:
Gerald Jaynes's picture Gerald Jaynes
Prof Economics & African American Studies; Acting Chair, Fa 2018 - Sp 2019
Rm 202 -- 28 Hillhouse Ave., New Haven, CT 06511-6606
gerald.jaynes@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3586
Kobena Mercer's picture Kobena Mercer, Director of Grad Studies African Am Stds -- Room 307, 81 Wall St.
Prof History of Art and Afr Am Studies; African American Studies
Loria 558 -- 190 York St, New Haven, CT 06511
kobena.mercer@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2671
Christopher Miller's picture Christopher Miller
Frederick Clifford Ford Prof French & African American Studies; Dir Grad Studies French
Rm 322 -- 82-90 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6605
christopher.miller@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-4466
Tavia Nyong'o's picture Tavia Nyong'o
Professor of African American Studies, American Studies and Theatre Studies
220 York Street
tavia.nyongo@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1310
Claudia Rankine's picture Claudia Rankine
Frederick Iseman Professor of Poetry
Rm 304 -- 81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511-6606
claudia.rankine@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9061
Website
Anthony Reed's picture Anthony Reed, Director of Undergrad Studies -- African Am Stds, Room 202, 81 Wall St.
Assoc Prof English & African American Studies
LC 406 -- 63 High St, New Haven, CT 06511-6642; Rm 302--81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511-0660
anthony.reed@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1033
Carolyn Roberts's picture Carolyn Roberts
Assistant Professor, History of Science & History of Medicine; African American Studies
Rm 303--81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511-6606
carolyn.roberts@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-1047
Edward Rugemer's picture Edward Rugemer
Assoc Prof American Studies and African American Studies, Assoc Prof History
Rm 305 -- 81 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6606
edward.rugemer@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-3556
Robert Stepto's picture Robert Stepto
John M. Schiff Professor of English; Prof African American Studies, Prof American Studies
Rm 404 -- 81 Wall Street, New Haven, CT 06511
robert.stepto@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2268, 203-432-1170
On leave: Fall 2018
Michael Veal's picture Michael Veal
Prof Music Dept and Afr Am Studies and American Studies
469 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-6609
michael.veal@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2990
On leave: Spring 2019