Graduate Students

Research Interests
Phoenix Alexander's picture Phoenix Alexander
phoenix.alexander@yale.edu
Ambre Dromgoole's picture Ambre Dromgoole

ambre.dromgoole@yale.edu
20th/21st Century Music and Performance; Holiness/Pentecostal Traditions; Women and Gender; Popular Culture; Voice Studies; Sonic Spirituality.
Anna Duensing's picture Anna Duensing

anna.duensing@yale.edu
20th Century United States History; African American History Since 1865; Modern German History; the US Military and American Empire; Public Humanities; Comparative Race and Diaspora; Studies; Immigration; Popular Culture and Mass Media
Nicholas Forster's picture Nicholas Forster
nicholas.forster@yale.edu
the work of Nicholas Ray, the films of the Black Power era, the African American novel in the middle of the 20th century, sound recording technologies, and hip-hop
William Glasspiegel's picture William Glasspiegel
william.glasspiegel@yale.edu
Fadila Habchi's picture Fadila Habchi
fadila.habchi@yale.edu
Treatment of history in African American novels and francophone literature as well as questions of race, gender and class
Micah Khater's picture Micah Khater

micah.khater@yale.edu
19th and 20th Century African American History; Carceral State Studies; Black Feminist Theory; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Cultural and Social History
Alison Kibbe's picture Alison Kibbe

alison.kibbe@yale.edu
Kiersten King's picture Kiersten King

kiersten.king@yale.edu
19th-century American and African American Literature, Black Studies, Performance Studies, Affect and Materiality
Key Jo Lee's picture Key Jo Lee
keyjo.lee@yale.edu
Jeong Yeon Lee's picture Jeong Yeon Lee

jeongyeon.lee@yale.edu
19th-Century American and African American Literature, Early American Literature, Christian Theology, Violence, Critical Race Studies, Black Studies
Demar F. Lewis IV's picture Demar F. Lewis IV

demar.lewis@yale.edu
Prisoner Reentry; Inequality; Racial Politics; Urban Sociology; Sociology of Law
Shayne McGregor's picture Shayne McGregor

shayne.mcgregor@yale.edu
20th-/21st-Century American Literature; Black Literary History; Afrofuturism
Philip V. McHarris's picture Philip V. McHarris
philip.mcharris@yale.edu
Race, punishment, and policing, drawing on qualitative and quantitative methods
Ever Esther Osorio Ruiz's picture Ever Esther Osorio Ruiz

ever.osorioruiz@yale.edu
Resistance, political subjectivities, sovereignty, globalization, affect theory, ethnography, critical theory and post-structuralism, psychoanalysis, the colonial present, critical race theory, biopolitics and women, gender and sexuality.
Camille Owens's picture Camille Owens

camille.owens@yale.edu
History of childhood; critical race studies; black feminist thought; disability studies; theater and performance studies; history of science; cultural history; critiques of humanism; 19th- and 20th- century U.S. history
Maryam Parhizkar's picture Maryam Parhizkar

maryam.parhizkar@yale.edu
Website
Aesthetics; Poetics; Race & Ethnicity; 20th/21st Century Performance & Literature; Social Practice; Theories of History & Modernity
Lauren Pearlman's picture Lauren Pearlman
lauren.pearlman@yale.edu
Danya Pilgrim's picture Danya Pilgrim

danya.pilgrim@yale.edu
African American history; U. S. social and cultural history; Gender; Domestic arts and foodways; Material culture; Public history and digital humanities
Gwen Prowse's picture Gwen Prowse
Graduate School Student
gwen.prowse@yale.edu
Black Politics; Federalism and Urban Politics; Criminal Justice; Housing; Methodology
Claire Schwartz's picture Claire Schwartz
claire.schwartz@yale.edu
African American Poetry, Art and Architecture, Queer Studies
Cera Smith's picture Cera Smith

cera.smith@yale.edu
20th-/21st-Century U.S. Ethnic Literatures (especially African American, Black diasporic, Chicanx, and Latinx), Radical Protest Literatures of the U.S., Critical Race Theories, Coloniality/Decoloniality, Black Studies, Body Studies
Thuto Thipe's picture Thuto Thipe

thuto.thipe@yale.edu
19th and 20th century African History; Global Print Culture; Comparative Race Studies; Gender and Sexualities Studies
Alexandra Thomas's picture Alexandra Thomas

alexandra.m.thomas@yale.edu
Contemporary art and performance of Africa and the African diaspora, photography and new media, Black feminist thought, and queer theory
Nala Williams's picture Nala Williams

nala.williams@yale.edu
Black feminist theory, Black feminist geographies, Black studies, critical race theory, alter/native anthropology
Alexia Williams's picture Alexia Williams
alexia.williams@yale.edu
Black transnationalism in 19th and 20th century African American migration narratives and travel literature