Graduate Students

Research Interests
Candace Borders's picture Candace Borders

candace.borders@yale.edu
Black Studies, Black Feminist Theory, 20th-century African American women’s history, oral history, public humanities
Bianca Dang's picture Bianca Dang

bianca.dang@yale.edu
Haitian Studies, 19th-Century African American History, Caribbean History, African Diaspora Studies, Black Feminist Thought, Gender Studies, Migration Studies
Ambre Dromgoole's picture Ambre Dromgoole

ambre.dromgoole@yale.edu
20th/21st Century Music and Performance; Holiness/Pentecostal Traditions; Women and Gender; Popular Culture; Voice Studies; Sonic Spirituality.
Anna Duensing's picture Anna Duensing

anna.duensing@yale.edu
20th Century United States History; African American History Since 1865; Modern German History; the US Military and American Empire; Public Humanities; Comparative Race and Diaspora; Studies; Immigration; Popular Culture and Mass Media
Nicholas Forster's picture Nicholas Forster
nicholas.forster@yale.edu
the work of Nicholas Ray, the films of the Black Power era, the African American novel in the middle of the 20th century, sound recording technologies, and hip-hop
William Glasspiegel's picture William Glasspiegel
william.glasspiegel@yale.edu
Fadila Habchi's picture Fadila Habchi
fadila.habchi@yale.edu
Treatment of history in African American novels and francophone literature as well as questions of race, gender and class
Amanda Joyce Hall's picture Amanda Joyce Hall

amanda.j.hall@yale.edu
20th Century U.S. social and political history; the Black Freedom Struggle; the Black Radical Tradition; Digital Humanities; international history; cultural and sports history; history of South Africa; decolonization; histories of diaspora, transnational movements, and world governance
Micah Khater's picture Micah Khater

micah.khater@yale.edu
19th and 20th Century African American History; Southern History; Carceral Studies; Black Feminist Theory; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Cultural History
Alison Kibbe's picture Alison Kibbe

alison.kibbe@yale.edu
Migration and Diaspora Studies, Race and Ethnicity, Caribbean and Latin American Studies, Black feminism, Ethnography and Oral History, Performance Studies, Body Studies, Transnationalism, Citizenship
Kiersten King's picture Kiersten King

kiersten.king@yale.edu
19th-century American and African American Literature, Black Studies, Performance Studies, Affect and Materiality
Amara Lawson-Chavanu's picture Amara Lawson-Chavanu

amara.lawson-chavanu@yale.edu
Black feminist theory, labor studies, sound & visual culture, affect & materiality, histories of arson
Key Jo Lee's picture Key Jo Lee
keyjo.lee@yale.edu
Jeong Yeon Lee's picture Jeong Yeon Lee

jeongyeon.lee@yale.edu
19th-Century American and African American Literature, Early American Literature, Christian Theology, Violence, Critical Race Studies, Black Studies
Demar F. Lewis IV's picture Demar F. Lewis IV

demar.lewis@yale.edu
Prisoner Reentry; Inequality; Racial Politics; Urban Sociology; Sociology of Law
Shayne McGregor's picture Shayne McGregor

shayne.mcgregor@yale.edu
20th-/21st-Century American Literature; Black Literary History; Afrofuturism
Philip V. McHarris's picture Philip V. McHarris
philip.mcharris@yale.edu
Race, punishment, and policing, drawing on qualitative and quantitative methods
Camille Owens's picture Camille Owens

camille.owens@yale.edu
History of childhood; critical race studies; black feminist thought; disability studies; theater and performance studies; history of science; cultural history; critiques of humanism; 19th- and 20th- century U.S. history
Maryam Parhizkar's picture Maryam Parhizkar

maryam.parhizkar@yale.edu
Website
Black studies, relational ethnic studies, performance studies, poetics, histories and theories of modernism and modernity
Lauren Pearlman's picture Lauren Pearlman
lauren.pearlman@yale.edu
Gwen Prowse's picture Gwen Prowse

gwen.prowse@yale.edu
Black Politics; Federalism and Urban Politics; Criminal Justice; Housing; Methodology
Ben Slightom's picture Ben Slightom

ben.slightom@yale.edu
Website
Political Anthropology, Afro-pessimism, Post-Industrial Landscapes, Urban Dispossession, and the Racialized Production of the Underclass
Cera Smith's picture Cera Smith

cera.smith@yale.edu
20th-/21st-Century U.S. Ethnic Literatures (especially African American, Black diasporic, Chicanx, and Latinx), Radical Protest Literatures of the U.S., Critical Race Theories, Coloniality/Decoloniality, Black Studies, Body Studies
Thuto Thipe's picture Thuto Thipe

thuto.thipe@yale.edu
African Cities; Land Rights; Comparative Race Studies; Feminist Studies; Decolonial Studies
Alexandra Thomas's picture Alexandra Thomas

alexandra.m.thomas@yale.edu
Contemporary art and performance of Africa and the African diaspora, photography and new media, Black feminist thought, and queer theory
Alexia Williams's picture Alexia Williams
alexia.williams@yale.edu
Black transnationalism in 19th and 20th century African American migration narratives and travel literature
Nala Williams's picture Nala Williams

nala.williams@yale.edu
Black feminist theory, Black feminist geographies, Black studies, critical race theory, alter/native anthropology