All

Research Interests
Joshua Aiken's picture Joshua Aiken

joshua.aiken@yale.edu
19th and 20th Century U.S. History, Race and Migration in the Americas, Mass Criminalization, U.S. Empire, Black Feminist Thought, Black Poetics, Black Marxism and Queer of Color Critiques
Elijah Anderson's picture Elijah Anderson
Sterling Prof of Sociology, Director, Urban Ethnography Project; Prof African American Studies
493 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-8907
elijah.anderson@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3321
Stephane Andrade's picture Stephane Andrade
stephane.andrade@yale.edu
Ethnography; Urban & Community Sociology; Race & Ethnicity; Poverty; Inequality; Neighborhoods; Personal Networks; Qualitative Methods
Kaelyn Apple's picture Kaelyn Apple
kaelyn.apple@yale.edu
Body Politics, Racial Injustice, and Legal History
Hamzah Baig's picture Hamzah Baig
hamzah.baig@yale.edu
Middle East and North Africa
Andie Berry's picture Andie Berry
andie.berry@yale.edu
20th/21st century African American dramatic literature, theater history; performance studies; speculation and the speculative; trauma studies. 
David Blight's picture David Blight
Sterling Professor of History, African American Studies & American Stds; Dir. Gilder Lehrman Center
GLC--230 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
david.blight@yale.edu
Phone: 432-8521, 432-3339
Candace Borders's picture Candace Borders

candace.borders@yale.edu
Black Studies, Black Feminist Theory, 20th-century African American women’s history, oral history, public humanities
Da'Von Boyd's picture Da'Von Boyd
davon.boyd@yale.edu
African American Political Theory, Black Feminist Theory, Black Relision in Social Movements
Daphne A. Brooks's picture Daphne A. Brooks
Director of Graduate Studies; William R. Kenan, Jr. Prof of African American Studies, and Prof. of Theater Stds, American Stds, and Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Stds
Rm 405 -- 81 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511
daphne.brooks@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9062
La Marr Bruce
lamarr.bruce@yale.edu
Hazel Carby's picture Hazel Carby
Charles C & Dorathea S Dilley Prof African American Studies & American Studies Emerita

hazel.carby@yale.edu
Phone:
Aimee Meredith Cox's picture Aimee Meredith Cox,
Director of Undergrad Studies; Associate Professor of Anthropology and African American Studies
Rm 302 -- 81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511-6606
aimee.cox@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-7758
Bianca Dang's picture Bianca Dang

bianca.dang@yale.edu
Haitian Studies, 19th-Century African American History, Caribbean History, African Diaspora Studies, Black Feminist Thought, Gender Studies, Migration Studies
Ambre Dromgoole's picture Ambre Dromgoole

ambre.dromgoole@yale.edu
Website
20th/21st Century Music and Performance; Holiness/Pentecostal Traditions; Women and Gender; Popular Culture; Voice Studies; Sonic Spirituality.
Anna Duensing's picture Anna Duensing

anna.duensing@yale.edu
20th Century United States History; African American History Since 1865; Modern German History; the US Military and American Empire; Public Humanities; Comparative Race and Diaspora; Studies; Immigration; Popular Culture and Mass Media
Crystal Feimster's picture Crystal Feimster
Assoc Prof African American Studies, History and American Studies
Rm 403--81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511
crystal.feimster@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-3563
Roderick Ferguson's picture Roderick Ferguson
Professor of Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies & African American Studies
William L. Harkness Hall, Room 318 -- 100 Wall Street, New Haven, CT 06511
roderick.ferguson@yale.edu
Alex Fialho's picture Alex Fialho

alex.fialho@yale.edu
Contemporary art, activist artistic response, HIV/AIDS scholarship, critical race studies, queer theory
Nicholas Forster's picture Nicholas Forster
Lecturer
Room 202--81 Wall Street, New Haven, CT 06511
nicholas.forster@yale.edu
Dustin Gavin's picture Dustin Gavin
dustin.gavin@yale.edu
American Religious History
Glenda Gilmore's picture Glenda Gilmore
Peter V & C Vann Woodward Prof of History; Prof, African American Studies and American Studies

glenda.gilmore@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1398
William Glasspiegel's picture William Glasspiegel
william.glasspiegel@yale.edu
Jacqueline Goldsby's picture Jacqueline Goldsby
Chair, Dept. of African American Studies; Prof., Depts. of English, American Studies & African American Studies
Rm 406 -- 81 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6606
jacqueline.goldsby@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3744
Emily Greenwood's picture Emily Greenwood
Prof Classics
Rm 307 Phelps -- 344 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-6629
emily.greenwood@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9457
Fadila Habchi's picture Fadila Habchi
fadila.habchi@yale.edu
Treatment of history in African American novels and francophone literature as well as questions of race, gender and class
Amanda Joyce Hall's picture Amanda Joyce Hall

amanda.j.hall@yale.edu
20th Century U.S. social and political history; the Black Freedom Struggle; the Black Radical Tradition; Digital Humanities; international history; cultural and sports history; history of South Africa; decolonization; histories of diaspora, transnational movements, and world governance
Alycia Hall's picture Alycia Hall
alycia.hall@yale.edu
Maroon Studies, Jamaican History, Caribbean History, 18th and 19th-Century African American History, African Diaspora Studies, Black Studies, Slavery and Emancipation
Thomas Allen Harris's picture Thomas Allen Harris
Senior Lecturer
Room 307--81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511
thomas.allen.harris@yale.edu
Clara Hawken's picture Clara Hawken
clara.wilson-hawken@yale.edu
20th-Century Popular Music; Black Feminism; Racial Capitalism; Social/Economic Policy; Black Studies; Performance Studies; Labor Studies; Sound Studies
Elizabeth Hinton's picture Elizabeth Hinton
Associate Professor of African American Studies & History
Room 402 -- 81 Wall Street, New Haven, CT 06511
elizabeth.hinton@yale.edu
Josie Hodson's picture Josie Hodson
josie.hodson@yale.edu
African Diasporic Art; Modern; Contemporary; African American Art
Matthew Jacobson's picture Matthew Jacobson
William Robertson Coe Professor of American Studies & History, Prof African American Stds
Arnold Hall B21
matthew.jacobson@yale.edu
Phone:
Gerald Jaynes's picture Gerald Jaynes
Prof Economics & African American Studies
Rm 202 -- 28 Hillhouse Ave., New Haven, CT 06511-6606
gerald.jaynes@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3586
Isaac Jean-Francois's picture Isaac Jean-Francois
isaac.jean-francois@yale.edu
Black studies, Phenomenology, Psychoanalysis, Queer theory, and Sound Studies
Michelle Johnson's picture Michelle Johnson
michelle.johnson@yale.edu
20th Century United States social and political history; African American history since 1865; Black women's history; the Black Freedom Struggle; Freedom North studies; United States urban history
Micah Jones's picture Micah Jones
micah.jones@yale.edu
19th and 20th Century African American History; Southern History; Carceral Studies; Black Feminist Theory; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Cultural History
Kassidi Jones's picture Kassidi Jones
kassidi.jones@yale.edu
19th-Century African American Ecopoetics and Georgia Douglas Johnson.
Erich Kessel's picture Erich Kessel
erich.kessel@yale.edu
Antiblackness; aesthetics; contemporary art and media; theories and histories of capitalism, labor and the commodity; psychoanalysis and affect theory; embodiment; philosophies of the subject. 
Micah Khater's picture Micah Khater

micah.khater@yale.edu
19th and 20th Century African American History; Southern History; Carceral Studies; Black Feminist Theory; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Cultural History
Alison Kibbe's picture Alison Kibbe

alison.kibbe@yale.edu
Migration and Diaspora Studies, Race and Ethnicity, Caribbean and Latin American Studies, Black feminism, Ethnography and Oral History, Performance Studies, Body Studies, Transnationalism, Citizenship
Rachel Laryea's picture Rachel Laryea
rachel.laryea@yale.edu
Black capitalists in the trans-Atlantic financial industry
Amara Lawson-Chavanu's picture Amara Lawson-Chavanu

amara.lawson-chavanu@yale.edu
Black feminist theory, labor studies, sound & visual culture, affect & materiality, histories of arson
Jennifer Leath
jennifer.leath@yale.edu
Jeong Yeon Lee's picture Jeong Yeon Lee

jeongyeon.lee@yale.edu
19th-Century American and African American Literature, Early American Literature, Christian Theology, Violence, Critical Race Studies, Black Studies
Key Jo Lee's picture Key Jo Lee
keyjo.lee@yale.edu
Nicole Ivy
nicole.lvy@yale.edu
Demar F. Lewis IV's picture Demar F. Lewis IV

demar.lewis@yale.edu
Prisoner Reentry; Inequality; Racial Politics; Urban Sociology; Sociology of Law
Sophia Lindner's picture Sophia Lindner
sophia.lindner@yale.edu
Race and racial ideology, culture and media, mechanisms of racial stratification
Faith Macharia's picture Faith Macharia
faith.macharia@yale.edu
transnational migrations; Africans in Europe, specifically Spain and Italy; ethnographic methods; citizenship and identity.
Shayne McGregor's picture Shayne McGregor

shayne.mcgregor@yale.edu
20th-/21st-Century American Literature; Black Literary History; Afrofuturism
Philip V. McHarris's picture Philip V. McHarris
philip.mcharris@yale.edu
Race, punishment, and policing, drawing on qualitative and quantitative methods
Kobena Mercer's picture Kobena Mercer,
Prof History of Art and Afr Am Studies; African American Studies
Loria 558 -- 190 York St, New Haven, CT 06511
kobena.mercer@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2671
On leave Fall 2020
Christopher Miller's picture Christopher Miller
Frederick Clifford Ford Prof French & African American Studies; Dir Grad Studies French
Rm 322 -- 82-90 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6605
christopher.miller@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-4466
Nathalie Miraval's picture Nathalie Miraval
nathalie.miraval@yale.edu
Jessie Modi's picture Jessie Modi
jessica.modi@yale.edu
20/21st Century, Poetry & Poetics, Critical Race Studies, History of the Book, Marxism, Postcolonial Studies
Jeania Ree Moore's picture Jeania Ree Moore
jeaniaree.moore@yale.edu
Theology; religious studies; African American/Africana studies; aesthetics; animals; ethics
Tavia Nyong'o's picture Tavia Nyong'o
Professor of African American Studies, American Studies and Theatre Studies
220 York Street, New Haven, CT 06511
tavia.nyongo@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1310
Camille Owens's picture Camille Owens

camille.owens@yale.edu
History of childhood; critical race studies; black feminist thought; disability studies; theater and performance studies; history of science; cultural history; critiques of humanism; 19th- and 20th- century U.S. history
Maryam Parhizkar's picture Maryam Parhizkar

maryam.parhizkar@yale.edu
Website
Black studies, relational ethnic studies, performance studies, poetics, histories and theories of modernism and modernity
Lauren Pearlman's picture Lauren Pearlman
lauren.pearlman@yale.edu
Olivia Polk's picture Olivia Polk
olivia.polk@yale.edu
Black feminist theory, queer theory, 19th and 20th century African American literature, black visual culture, gender and sexuality studies, performance studies, affect and materiality, faggotry, femmes, sexual subcultures
Katherine Ponds
katherine.ponds@yale.edu
Performance Studies; American Studies; Classical Reception Studies; African-American Literature
Yasmina Price's picture Yasmina Price

yasmina.price@yale.edu
Afro-Diasporic Cinema, affect and flesh, Black Marxism, anti-colonialism
Jocelyn Proietti's picture Jocelyn Proietti
jocelyn.proietti@yale.edu
Visual art, literature, cultural history, and black feminist performances of self
Gwen Prowse's picture Gwen Prowse

gwen.prowse@yale.edu
Black politics; federalism; policing; urban politics; participatory methods
Claudia Rankine's picture Claudia Rankine
Frederick Iseman Professor of Poetry
Rm 304 -- 81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511-6606
claudia.rankine@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9061
Website
Teanu Reid's picture Teanu Reid
teanu.reid@yale.edu
17th and 18th-Century African American History, Caribbean History, African Diaspora Studies, Black Studies, Economic History
Jas Riley's picture Jas Riley
jas.riley@yale.edu
Performance Studies, Queer Studies, Trans Studies, and Religious Studies. 
Maurice Rippel's picture Maurice Rippel
maurice.rippel@yale.edu
Race, Gender; African Diaspora; Citizenship; Education; Multimodal Ethnography
Carolyn Roberts's picture Carolyn Roberts
Assistant Professor, History of Science & History of Medicine; African American Studies
Rm 303--81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511-6606
carolyn.roberts@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-1047
On leave: Fall 2020 through Spring 2021
Carolyn Roberts's picture Carolyn Roberts
Assistant Professor, History of Science & History of Medicine; African American Studies
Rm 303--81 Wall St., New Haven, CT 06511-6606
carolyn.roberts@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-1047
On leave: Fall 2020 through Spring 2021
Edward Rugemer's picture Edward Rugemer
Assoc Prof American Studies and African American Studies, Assoc Prof History
Rm 305 -- 81 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6606
edward.rugemer@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-3556
On leave Spring 2021
jub Sankofa's picture jub Sankofa
justin.christopher@yale.edu
African American Studies, Late 19th and 20th century Black Women's History, The Black West, U.S. Carceral Regimes, 20th Century Policing, Juvenile Justice, Prison Organizing, Reentry, Confinement Literature, Social Movements, Public Humanities, i.e.. Family and Community Memory, Digital Humanities,
Ben Slightom's picture Ben Slightom

ben.slightom@yale.edu
Website
Political Anthropology, Afro-pessimism, Post-Industrial Landscapes, Urban Dispossession, and the Racialized Production of the Underclass
Cera Smith's picture Cera Smith

cera.smith@yale.edu
20th-/21st-Century U.S. Ethnic Literatures (especially African American, Black diasporic, Chicanx, and Latinx), Radical Protest Literatures of the U.S., Critical Race Theories, Coloniality/Decoloniality, Black Studies, Body Studies
Robert Stepto's picture Robert Stepto
John M. Schiff Professor of English; Prof African American Studies, Prof American Studies Emeritus

robert.stepto@yale.edu
Phone:
Thuto Thipe's picture Thuto Thipe

thuto.thipe@yale.edu
African Cities; Land Rights; Comparative Race Studies; Feminist Studies; Decolonial Studies
Alexandra Thomas's picture Alexandra Thomas

alexandra.m.thomas@yale.edu
Contemporary art and performance of Africa and the African diaspora, photography and new media, Black feminist thought, and queer theory
Michael Veal's picture Michael Veal
Prof Music Dept and Afr Am Studies and American Studies
469 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-6609
michael.veal@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2990
Brandi Waters's picture Brandi Waters
brandi.waters@yale.edu
Alexia Williams's picture Alexia Williams
alexia.williams@yale.edu
Race, Ethnicity and Migration in the Americas; African American Literatures and Cultures; African American Religious History; Religion and Modernity
Connor Williams's picture Connor Williams
connor.williams@yale.edu
US
Nala Williams's picture Nala Williams

nala.williams@yale.edu
Black feminist theory, Black feminist geographies, Black studies, critical race theory, alter/native anthropology
Teona Williams's picture Teona Williams
teona.williams@yale.edu
U.S environmental history, political ecology, race and ethnic studies, environmental justice, digital humanities, and African American history