Current Graduate Students

Status
Iman AbdoulKarim's picture Iman AbdoulKarim
Graduate School Student
iman.abdoulkarim@yale.edu
Islam in America; African-American religious history; Black feminist theory; race and gender in Islamic thought; public humanities
Minali Aggarwal's picture Minali Aggarwal
Graduate School Student
minali.aggarwal@yale.edu
Joshua Aiken's picture Joshua Aiken

joshua.aiken@yale.edu
19th and 20th Century U.S. History, Race and Migration in the Americas, Mass Criminalization, U.S. Empire, Black Feminist Thought, Black Poetics, Black Marxism and Queer of Color Critiques
Stephane Andrade's picture Stephane Andrade
stephane.andrade@yale.edu
Ethnography; Urban & Community Sociology; Race & Ethnicity; Poverty; Inequality; Neighborhoods; Personal Networks; Qualitative Methods
Kaelyn Apple's picture Kaelyn Apple
kaelyn.apple@yale.edu
Black British History, Motherhood, Body Politics, Racial Injustice, and Early Modern Legal History
Hamzah Baig's picture Hamzah Baig
hamzah.baig@yale.edu
Middle East and North Africa
Andie Berry's picture Andie Berry
andie.berry@yale.edu
20th/21st century African American dramatic literature, theater history; performance studies; speculation and the speculative; trauma studies. 
Candace Borders's picture Candace Borders

candace.borders@yale.edu
Black Studies, Black Feminist Theory, 20th-century African American women’s history, oral history, public humanities
Da'Von Boyd's picture Da'Von Boyd
davon.boyd@yale.edu
African American Political Theory, Black Feminist Theory, Black Relision in Social Movements
Shefali Gauri Das's picture Shefali Gauri Das
shefali.das@yale.edu
Racial Capitalism, Policing, Neoliberalism, Economic Sociology, State Violence
Ambre Dromgoole's picture Ambre Dromgoole

ambre.dromgoole@yale.edu
Website
20th/21st Century Music and Performance; Holiness/Pentecostal Traditions; Women and Gender; Popular Culture; Voice Studies; Sonic Spirituality.
Elizabeth Durrant's picture Elizabeth Durrant
elizabeth.durrant@yale.edu
Black and women composers, Black feminism, 20th and 21st century music, neoromantic music, literature, Black Chicago Renaissance, American song
Alex Fialho's picture Alex Fialho

alex.fialho@yale.edu
Contemporary art, activist artistic response, HIV/AIDS scholarship, critical race studies, queer theory
Dustin Gavin's picture Dustin Gavin
dustin.gavin@yale.edu
American Religious History
William Glasspiegel's picture William Glasspiegel
william.glasspiegel@yale.edu
Kristine Guillaume's picture Kristine Guillaume
kristine.guillaume@yale.edu
20th and 21st century African American and Black diasporic literature, prison writing, Black political thought, life-writing
Alycia Hall's picture Alycia Hall
alycia.hall@yale.edu
Maroon Studies, Jamaican History, Caribbean History, 18th and 19th-Century African American History, African Diaspora Studies, Black Studies, Slavery and Emancipation
Conor Hodges's picture Conor Hodges
conor.hodges@yale.edu
20th Century U.S. History, Carceral Studies, Military History, Black Freedom Struggle, Insurgency & Counterinsurgency, Wars on Crime, Drugs, and Terror
Josie Hodson's picture Josie Hodson
josie.hodson@yale.edu
African Diasporic Art; Modern; Contemporary; African American Art
Isaac Jean-Francois's picture Isaac Jean-Francois
isaac.jean-francois@yale.edu
Black studies, Phenomenology, Psychoanalysis, Queer theory, and Sound Studies
Michelle Johnson's picture Michelle Johnson
michelle.johnson@yale.edu
20th Century United States social and political history; African American history since 1865; Black women's history; the Black Freedom Struggle; Freedom North studies; United States urban history
Micah Jones's picture Micah Jones
micah.jones@yale.edu
African American History; Southern History; Black Women’s History, Social Movement History, History of Consumption
Sam Jones's picture Sam Jones
Graduate School Student
sam.jones@yale.edu
Black Europe; Black transnationalism; African-American travel, particularly in Europe; postcolonial theory; memory studies
Kassidi Jones's picture Kassidi Jones
kassidi.jones@yale.edu
19th-Century African American Ecopoetics and Georgia Douglas Johnson.
Erich Kessel's picture Erich Kessel
erich.kessel@yale.edu
Antiblackness; aesthetics; contemporary art and media; theories and histories of capitalism, labor and the commodity; psychoanalysis and affect theory; embodiment; philosophies of the subject. 
Micah Khater's picture Micah Khater

micah.khater@yale.edu
Website
19th and 20th Century African American History; Southern History; Carceral Studies; Black Feminist Theory; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Cultural History
Alison Kibbe's picture Alison Kibbe

alison.kibbe@yale.edu
Migration and Diaspora Studies, Race and Ethnicity, Caribbean and Latin American Studies, Black feminism, Ethnography and Oral History, Performance Studies, Body Studies, Transnationalism, Citizenship
Rachel Laryea's picture Rachel Laryea
rachel.laryea@yale.edu
Black capitalists in the trans-Atlantic financial industry
Jeong Yeon Lee's picture Jeong Yeon Lee

jeongyeon.lee@yale.edu
19th-Century American and African American Literature, Early American Literature, Christian Theology, Violence, Critical Race Studies, Black Studies
Demar F. Lewis IV's picture Demar F. Lewis IV

demar.lewis@yale.edu
Website
Areas of Interest: Policing, Race & Ethnictiy, Inequality, Lynching & Historical Racial Violence, Urban Sociology, Law & Society, Du Boisian Sociology, Political Sociology, Multiple Methods (Archival, Interviews, Statistical)
Sophia Lindner's picture Sophia Lindner
sophia.lindner@yale.edu
Race and racial ideology, culture and media, mechanisms of racial stratification
Faith Macharia's picture Faith Macharia
faith.macharia@yale.edu
transnational migrations; Africans in Europe, specifically Spain and Italy; ethnographic methods; citizenship and identity.
Christoph' McFadden's picture Christoph' McFadden
Graduate School Student
christoph.mcfadden@yale.edu
African American gospel traditions, history of the black church, 20th and 21st century popular music, celebrity studies, media studies, black theology
Jessie Modi's picture Jessie Modi
jessica.modi@yale.edu
20th/21st-century African American and black diasporic literature; poetry and poetics; history of the book; Marxism; media studies; creative writing
Jeania Ree Moore's picture Jeania Ree Moore
jeaniaree.moore@yale.edu
Religious Studies; Theology; Black Studies; Popular Romance Studies; Animals and Religion
Maryam Parhizkar's picture Maryam Parhizkar

maryam.parhizkar@yale.edu
Website
Black studies, relational ethnic studies, performance studies, poetics, histories and theories of modernism and modernity
Olivia Polk's picture Olivia Polk
olivia.polk@yale.edu
Black feminist theory, queer theory, 19th and 20th century African American literature, black visual culture, gender and sexuality studies, performance studies, affect and materiality, faggotry, femmes, sexual subcultures
Katherine Ponds's picture Katherine Ponds
katherine.ponds@yale.edu
Performance Studies; American Studies; Classical Reception Studies; African-American Literature
Yasmina Price's picture Yasmina Price

yasmina.price@yale.edu
Afro-Diasporic Cinema, affect and flesh, Black Marxism, anti-colonialism
Jocelyn Proietti's picture Jocelyn Proietti
jocelyn.proietti@yale.edu
Visual art, literature, cultural history, and black feminist performances of self
Teanu Reid's picture Teanu Reid
teanu.reid@yale.edu
17th and 18th-Century African American History, Caribbean History, African Diaspora Studies, Black Studies, Economic History
Jas Riley's picture Jas Riley
jas.riley@yale.edu
Performance Studies, Queer Studies, Trans Studies, and Religious Studies. 
Maurice Rippel's picture Maurice Rippel
maurice.rippel@yale.edu
Race, Gender; African Diaspora; Citizenship; Education; Multimodal Ethnography
Ben Slightom's picture Ben Slightom

ben.slightom@yale.edu
Website
Political Anthropology, Afro-pessimism, Post-Industrial Landscapes, Urban Dispossession, and the Racialized Production of the Underclass
Cera Smith's picture Cera Smith

cera.smith@yale.edu
Website
U.S. Black Literatures (African American, Afro-Latinx, and other Black diasporic), Radical Protest Literatures of the U.S., Black Studies, Critical Race Theories, Affect Theory, Gender and Sexuality, Histories of Science and Medicine, and Body Studies.
Alexandra Thomas's picture Alexandra Thomas

alexandra.m.thomas@yale.edu
Contemporary art and performance of Africa and the African diaspora, photography and new media, Black feminist thought, and queer theory
Babette Thomas's picture Babette Thomas
An artist, radio producer and doctoral student in the departments of American and African-American Studies
babette.thomas@yale.edu
Black radio history; public humanities; sound studies; radio studies; media studies; new media studies; Black feminist theory; affect theory
Taylor Thompson's picture Taylor Thompson
Graduate School Student
taylor.thompson.twt9@yale.edu
Black Feminism, Black Theories, Oral Histories, Economic History, Economics, Black Studies
Connor Williams's picture Connor Williams
connor.williams@yale.edu
Nala Williams's picture Nala Williams

nala.williams@yale.edu
Black feminist theory, Black feminist geographies, Black studies, critical race theory, alter/native anthropology
Devin Williams's picture Devin Williams
Graduate School Student
devin.williams@yale.edu
Race & Ethnicity, Sociology of Education, Critical University Studies, Critical Race Theory, Racial (in)equity, Power Structures
Teona Williams's picture Teona Williams
teona.williams@yale.edu
U.S environmental history, political ecology, race and ethnic studies, environmental justice, digital humanities, and African American history

Edward Rugemer
Director of Graduate Studies
edward.rugemer@yale.edu

Kirsten Dudley
Academic Support Assistant (Registrar)
203-432-1170
kirsten.dudley@yale.edu

Graduate Student Liaisons
Speak with a student about the program
Maurice Rippel   Kaelyn Grace Apple